Rgdal Package: R crash during “writeGDAL” solved

Posted: August 13, 2012 in Spatial data, This and That
Tags: , ,

Lost entire day fighting this ridicules crash during export of raster created in R to GeoTiff (other “rgdal” functions worked fine). This option worked well several months ago when I last time used it, so I wondered what happened. I searched for the only error message I was able to catch: “Failure during IO”, but wasn’t able to find anything useful.

After some time I started to suspect GDAL itself in abnormal behaviour since its latest updates caused some troubles already. I was wrong but the idea itself turned to be useful – I recalled that I had about a dozen of GDAL updates since “rgdal” package was installed. Despite the package was “up to date” I’ve reinstalled it. It solved the problem)))

Leave a Reply

